My First AlMaghrib Course

This weekend, I attended my first AlMaghrib course, “Complicated? : A to Z of Women’s Modern Fiqh” with Shaykh Waleed Basyouni. It was… incredible, to say the least. Alhamdulillah. I learned so much… I mean much of what he said was basically common sense, and I knew it already, but some things I learned were new and surprising. The shaykh is very funny and laid back as well, which made the whole experience really entertaining! And I’ve already signed up for the next AlMaghrib course that will be in May, “Forever – A Journey Through Heaven and Hell” with Shaykh Riad Ourzazi.

But it was more than that… it was the whole… community feeling. Sisters talking to each other, mostly even without introduction, as if we’ve known each other from before. Brothers being respectful… the adaab that is just naturally put in place in a setting like that… ma sha Allah.

That more than anything is actually what I miss. I wish I had that. I wish I truly was part of the sisterhood. I wish that was the kind of environment I lived in. Alas… it’s only temporary. Now that the weekend is over, the reality of our painful dunya hits back.

But alhamdulillah I’m motivated. There are some steps I’ve already decided I’m going to be able to take in sha Allah. Others will need a bit more work. I ask for you du’a in achieving those goals. May Allah guide us all on the right path. Ameen.

One thought on “My First AlMaghrib Course

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

