#SaveHumanity

I was 12 years old when the Twin Towers fell. I had no idea what they were. Neither had I ever heard of Al Qaeda. I don’t even think I knew what the word “terrorist” meant. I didn’t know, that it had anything to do with Muslims. I didn’t know that it was a planted seed that would slowly grow to target me.

I never imagined that one day, in the country I have been born and raised in, the place that always has been my home, I would walk out scared, not daring to look anyone straight in the eyes. That I would pull my hoodie up to hide my headscarf (I saw another girl who did this). I didn’t know that the feeling of guilt mixed would fear would pierce me everytime strangers discussed the latest terrorist attack. Yes it was a heinous crime. But it wasn’t my fault. I mourn the innocent lives lost. And it wasn’t the fault of the faith I practice. Just like it isn’t in the Jewish faith or the Buddhist faith to kill.

Yet I’m the one who’s afraid. I’m the one who questions my future. And I can’t help it.

A non-Muslim friend of mine texted me earlier today, telling me to keep myself safe. I want to believe that his type of people dominate the world. But am I wrong if I can’t believe it? Is the majority ignorant and filled with hatred?

Like I tweeted earlier, it’s a sad sad day when the first thing I ask as a Muslim during a terrorist attack is “who did it?” The fear overtakes the shame.

12 thoughts on “#SaveHumanity

  1. You’re not the only one.

    That’s the first question everybody asks. Followed by “How many?”. Though, the first question I ask myself is why, and who benefits from all this. And that’s when things get complicated. Who did it is usually not the same as who benefits from it. As a society we have always been ‘taught’ what to see, ask and believe. And this is no different. People have always been wary of the ‘different’. And to control a population, this fear is important.

    I find it difficult to believe that with so many advances in technology, it seems a daunting and impossible task to stop terrorism. But, just like the existence of computer malware, there is a good reason. Because so many stand to benefit from it. Think about it, the world would rather have you living in fear than question what’s happening around you. They would rather control a harmless ordinary citizen than tackle the real national issues. And if they’re helped in this by societal violence, so be it. Imagine if true global unity was a possibility. But no, we can’t have that. Because global unity would mean accountability for those who don’t want to be held accountable. And you know as well as I do, that’s not going to happen.

    On the other hand, innocent people get dragged from their homes and persecuted because they’re different. When in reality, they are the one’s being terrorized. Wouldn’t you say the same about the way you’re feeling? To me, terrorism is any situation where I do not feel safe because of another human being. Whatever be the reason. And if that reason is me being suspected of being a terrorist because of my faith, name or ethnicity – then that’s terrorism against me. Perhaps it’s a vicious circle. And we don’t know if it started with real terrorists or innocent victims branded terrorists.

    And in the middle of all this malarkey, the families of the victims turn victims themselves. They see no closure. They have no answers. And people just continue to point fingers.

    Next time (though I hope there’s never a next time), try substituting Who with Why. And that fear will turn into anger.

    #solidarité

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is there any acceptable “why” for terror and violence? What difference does it make why who is doing what? At the end of the day, nobody cares for the root of the issue. People only extract enough information to suit their needs, and if some are harmed in the process then it doesn’t affect them. The question is what can I do? What should I do? What is expected of me?

      Like

      1. Sadly, all you can really do is to try and let people know that these extremist groups are not what our religion is about. Weren’t we taught to love and share just like everybody else? People need to know that. Religion does not decide who we are. And at the end of the day, we’re all the same. No matter what anyone says.

        Like

        1. But if you say that religion doesn’t decide who we are then you’re implying that what Da’esh is doing is because of religion… it’s not, it’s all politics and power games.

          Islam is a big and defining part of my personality and life. There are always going to be differences between people. What’s important is not to make everybody the same but to take advantage of these differences and live in symbiosis. It’s diversity that creates a developing world.

          Like

          1. Ah, you misunderstood me. You and I know what Islam is about. The world knows what they’re taught. And right now, Muslims are being typecast and stereotyped simply because of our faith. The people who terrorize are advertised first as Muslims and then as terrorists. And yes, that pure politics. The first step to opening up somebody’s mind is to help them understand that religion doesn’t make me who I am. Just because I share the faith of someone who has no values doesn’t make the faith or me wrong. It’s that person who’s wrong. He or she should be punished. Shaming a faith or its followers is not what needs to be done. But that’s exactly what’s being done right now.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. “Is the majority ignorant and filled with hatred?”

    Oh my goodness I so want the answer to be ‘no’. But I fear it isn’t.

    If I’m honest, I fear for all of us – Muslim and non-Muslim alike – because there are bad people out there on both sides and it feels like all the bad guys are winning right now. All the more reason for us all to show our love and solidarity for all good, decent people of all nations and faiths.

    I still have to hope that somehow that weaker, more pathetic, holding of each other will somehow beat the war machine and corrupt ideologies which continue to wreak havoc on humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The example that grates on me the most was when he didn't show up for a court mandated community event….There were kids there that looked up to him and expected to see him, but I guess that didn't matter.Iverson: "Do you know who I am?"Cop: "Yeah! You're the jerk that disappointed my son when you didn't show up at that Community Event! My son used to look up to you!"Iverson: "Oh, ****!"

    Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

