Week 45, 2015

To begin with, I want to apologize to the blogs I follow. I’m way behind on your posts and I won’t catch up for a while, maybe not until the winter break… maybe not even then. I’m up to my neck in school work, working one and a half days a week, still trying to settle in to the new place, and having to deal with toothache. Most of the time I spend on social media is occupied by Twitter.

My wisdom tooth has been causing a lot of trouble for the past week and the pain is unbearable. I went to the emergency clinic but they sent me home without doing anything, suggesting I brush with this gel that didn’t work. Now I’m looking into a private clinic, and hopefully they’ll pull it out or at least do something.

Rayan and Lillan came last weekend, for the first time since settling into their new apartment way too far from here. They’re coming again tomorrow. I haven’t been to their place since they moved, haven’t had the time. I keep thinking “next weekend”, but I can’t seem to ever completely catch up with school work.

One of the courses I took last period was Generative Workshop in Creative Writing (this is my second writing workshop. The first one I took was an undergraduate course). The author M.J. Hyland flew in from the UK to teach us that course, which was pretty cool. The deadline for an edited version of our short stories is 15th of November, and 16th of November I have to hand in a short story (will use the same one) for another course; Creative Writing and Editing. I haven’t started on the editing yet. Except for Creative Writing and Editing, the other course I’m taking this period is Aesthetics and Craft in Transnational Writing. So yeah, all the courses this semester are writing courses (the fourth course, which finished a couple of weeks ago, was English for Academic Research).

So yeah that’s what I’m up to right now. How has your fall been so far?

5 thoughts on “Week 45, 2015

  1. Thanks for asking! My fall has have a brilliant start. I’m not taking any English classes this semester, but I still wanted to write. I started a writing club of about 7-8 people in my dorm hall, and our prompt last week was to write a poem or short story based on a colors that we each though of and wrote down on a piece of paper, which were then put in a pile for us to randomly pick from. The color I grabbed from the pile was mahogany, and I have yet to write it. I have been terribly busy; however, as my time management keeps evolving, I wait in inspiration. It’s very therapeutic to write exactly how you feel.

    Like

    1. A writing club is a good idea, although if you’re serious about writing I would recommend a workshop lead by a teacher. There’s so much to learn about creative writing… We tend to think our stuff is really good until we’re confronted with even more talented writers, and until we learn that much of what we’ve been doing has been wrong. M.J. Hyland said, among other things, that if you’re really serious about your writing, you make time for it regardless of how much you have to do. She suggested writing early in the morning, while your mind is still foggy from sleep.

      By the way, I’m not taking English classes individually or “just for fun”, I’m taking them as part of my Masters program in English literature.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Meh stressful to say the least ! Need to sell our apartment before moving out to new one in Hässelby Strand. So we have been fixing our old one. But that’s not it, we also need to fix up the new one so yeah a lot of work :(.

    Sorry to hear about your toothache though!

    Like

    1. Oh you’re moving over to our area then? Cool! Hässelby strand is nice, it’s the more expensive part of Hässelby hahah :P.

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

