There’s a Perfectly Medical Explanation To All This

I have hypothyroidism. Ever since I started receiving the treatment for it, more than four years ago, I have lost the ability to deal with depression. Prior to the treatment, depression and tiredness were so intimate with me that I didn’t know life to be any other way. That and feeling cold (physically) all the time. But since my hormones have regained their normal levels, mere sadness is now a scary and unfamiliar feeling. I’m so used to feeling content and happy that I don’t know what to do to make negative feelings go away.

So currently my dopamine and oxytocin levels are rapidly decreasing, being replaced by cortisol. I understand the attraction towards the medical profession… everything sounds so logical when put in medical terms. No wonder my doctor cousin looks so worry-free all the time.

Didn’t someone once say chocolate contains endorphins?

4 thoughts on “There’s a Perfectly Medical Explanation To All This

    1. No that’s HYPERthyroidism, an overactive thyroid. Hypo is underactive and causes weight gain. Yeah you get pills but in most cases you have to continue taking them for the rest of your life.

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

