The Theme of this Blog

I’ve received an unusual amount of positive attention through my last post; comments, a retweet, new readers. Muslim Twitter truly is a very supportive community and so, I’m also learning, is the Muslim blogosphere (although I suspect it’s much larger and more diversified than the very small portion of it I’ve seen so far). I don’t know how successful my attempts would have been had it not been for their support. Sisters always got your back, and sometimes brothers as well.

And I appreciate it even more because I don’t have any practicing friends in real life. The truth of the matter is that even if someone is born in a Muslim family, many times that person is not always aware of the lifestyle of a practicing person. For a long time I struggled even with mentioning why I couldn’t stay out too long or why I couldn’t meet up earlier etc (there’s always the option of praying in the nearest mosque, but where would you then tell your non-practicing friend to wait?). I felt like constantly bringing up prayer felt a bit… preachy. Although that’s what I least of all want to be.

The reason I write about religion in my blog is because it’s a crucial part of my life. And this blog simply reflects my life, nothing more. Different things go through our minds during different periods of life. At the moment marriage and the upcoming post-graduation life are important issues for me to think about, and that’s why you see more of that. If and when I eventually do get married, you’ll see a lot of newlywed chatter. Then one day you might see my pregnant brain talking, and then that new parent obsession with her baby. If I stick around long enough, you might hear me rant about my pension fund. So this blog doesn’t have a theme other than… well me.

7 thoughts on “The Theme of this Blog

  1. You are such an inspiration. I wouldn’t know the struggle of practicing Islam because my mum is a very religious person and so it was very easy for me. My mum put me in a quran madarsa when I was 8 and alhumdulillah I have memorised the whole Quran. I wore the hijab when I started madarsa and since I lived in Dubai, a Muslim state, I had no issues with people questioning or saying that my mum was forcing me to wear it. But you, Norah, you are a hero. Wearing hijab and practicing, following, loving Islam among people who find you preachy, that is just inspiring. May Allah help you in your journey and may you find peace and happiness.May Allah guide your fellow peers to the straight path. And yes, your blog should be about you. I would love to know more about you, your life, what you are going through (did that sound creepy? Sowwie). I shall be right here, supporting you and clapping for you for your accomplishments 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ma sha Allah that’s so cool. I’ve always admired people who have memorized the whole Qur’an. And you being a young girl just makes it more admirable.

      Jazak Allahu khayran. I have a long way to go yet though. I’m still learning and currently also suffering from post-Ramadan syndrome :P. And I know there are many out there with worse struggles, converts for example.

      Your support truly means a lot. Hahah no that’s not creepy at all. I’m glad we found each other :).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always loved your blog being about you! Hence why I’ve stuck around so long 😛

    I hope you’re not totally discounting your NON-Muslim friends in all of this? We love you too 🙂

    By the way – are we not friends on Twitter? I can’t find you – how can this be?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No of course not… I wrote that mainly because I didn’t want to scare you guys away with all the religion stuff 😛 .

      Hahah I think I unfollowed you because you didn’t interact with me on Twitter. Hold on I’ll follow you back.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha – you can’t scare me 😛
        You unfollowed me?! Huh! To be honest I rarely engage in conversations on Twitter – so many ppl interacting with what I tweet that I simply don’t have time. I’ll be more careful in future though – don’t want you unfriending me ha ha! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

