Little Things

It’s funny how I can stay away for months from the blogosphere, but as soon as it’s time for me to write an essay, my cursor seems to get a will of its own and find its way to the WordPress Dashboard… heedless of whether or not I actually have something to say!

I’m approaching my 26th birthday… and I can tell you I’m not looking forward to it. Time’s going way too fast (I’m actually writing about how we use metaphors to discuss time right now… or… I’m supposed to write about it :-/ ), and I’m not ready for the physical changes. No seriously… isn’t it when you’re approaching 30 that facial creams start getting more expensive because now you have to buy the ones that fight the fine lines?

I’ll be honest, as a teen I always dreamt that I’d have a family pretty early. Well… I also expected to be done with studies and have a proper job at 22/23. Yes I know, I laugh at my younger self too. Back in those days, I had the curse of naïvety on me and I didn’t understand much about politics or economy to predict that things will look terribly bad for gen Y in Sweden. At least I’m not alone – I have classmates older than me.

It’s funny though… I always thought that Swedes had children late… and now when I’m 25 all I see are mothers (sometimes much) younger than me. What’s even worse is that I, who have been child-loving since I was a child myself (there’s a picture of me as a three year old pushing a toy-pram with my baby cousin in it), am actually starting to consider children as overestimated. Like what’s so special about having a kid anyway? Almost everybody has one at some point in life. I doubt midwives would tell you every childbirth is unique. Now, before I get the angered attention of first-time mothers and overzealous fathers (do keep in mind I myself have witnessed a childbirth), just think about my situation here alright? I have a right to justify and glorify my single life *breaks down hysterically and grabs the nearest bag of salted bliss*!

Now if HYPOTHETICALLY, I did have a baby, I would expect nothing less than this from day one. (From Google)

On a serious note, before this year ends I might not be living with my nephews anymore. And that’s terrifying. I’d rather have Rayan’s scratches, Lillan’s bites and Eron’s drool all day than live without them. But I still stand by my previous statement because my nephews aren’t like other kids – they’re special ^_^ .

13 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Ha! How fitting that you write about an approaching birthday on my 32nd! Yup! I’m officially old and judging by your fears, filled with lines and maybe failing organs!

    Sadly, none of that excitement here. I think 40 is the new 30. Maybe by then I’ll have something fail on me.

    The only physical change I see is I’m a bit less lazy that I used to be before. But isn’t that a good thing?

    There is one thing I learnt though – you will always feel young if you keep the same set of friends for longer. Somehow when people grow old with you, you can stay young together. I have no idea if that made any sense at all!

    Oh and BTW, Happy Birthday in advance. And say no to cream. Unless its on a cake. Then say yes, I’ll have two please.

    Like

    1. Happy birthday! Hahah well… I think there must be a difference between us in that I feel the “your-body-has-the-capability-to-give-birth-but-not-forever” anguish 😛 .

      Like

      1. Hahah! I get it now! I’m sure if it were upto your family back in Bangladesh, you’d be the proud mom of at least two by now. But hey, how late is too late? I think it’s safe till 30 at least..

        Like

        1. Hey it would be the same if it were up to me lol. I’ve always wanted to be a young mom… having old parents myself. I think they say you should have your first kid before 35, not sure.

          Like

  2. Just catching up on your posts (again). I do think singleness while you’re young is to be praised. Too many go off desperately trying to find ‘the one’ when really that’s an extension of their own fears and self-doubts. Better to enjoy doing whatever you wish to in life and let love, settling down, having kids and all that kind of thing come when it’s ready. You’re still very young and I was stunned to find that the average age for having a first child in the UK is now into the 30s! Plenty time yet 🙂

    Like

        1. Really? Oooh… right, I forgot that you daughter is barely 15 yet. I keep thinking how young a parent you are, as my eldest brother isn’t much younger than you and his kids are still babies. But anyway! You were married at my age right?

          Like

          1. I married at 25 but the average age for that has gone up too. It seems the current trend is for everything to happen in your thirties now. Actually my daughter isn’t 15 YET – a few more months to go…

            Liked by 1 person

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

