Under an Unknown Heading in the Future History Books

There’s too much happening in the world right now. Every single day something new is happening. There is not a moment to breathe. And the media… they’re doing their job to sell and spread misunderstanding.

Are we facing a time that will be squashed under a heading in the history books of the future? What will that heading be? Can we guess, given our notions about who will be writing those history books?

Image courtesy: http://www.history-us.com

I wonder what it would be like if all of us Muslims remained completely silent throughout these turbulent times. If we decided not to utter a single word regarding the events happening around which we’re being blamed and simultaneously victimized. What would happen if we adopted that kind of extreme patience and perseverance? What would the world do to us? Where would we end up?

What is my role in all of this? Where am I in all of this? Ever since I became active on Twitter again, I seem to somehow have become drawn into this turbulence and an idea has nestled inside the part of my brain that deals with unfinished thoughts that I am involved. But what, precisely, am I involved in? And how am I involved in it? I have yet to find the terms and labels. This purposefulness may be a complete illusion, but given my supposed creative mind, even an illusory purposefulness may actually lead to something productive. In shaa Allah. At least windows are appearing, doors are being left slightly ajar; possibilities are emerging.

Thus… just as deserts may give birth to the one odd flower and pain brings children into the world, I do believe good can come out from the bad. But that requires patience.

Complete silence, I realize of course, is not the solution. On the contrary we should speak. But we should speak wisely. We have guidance in the writings of our faith – a key you could say. Times similar to these have once passed and been tolerated and dealt with. Let us learn from history. Let us act in a way so that even if the same people who wrote history books yesterday write them tomorrow, they give us a proper heading.

5 thoughts on “Under an Unknown Heading in the Future History Books

  1. I feel your pain though, of course, I can begin to pretend I know what you’re going through.

    I find it odd that for many (particularly here in the UK) their only source of information about Muslims is the constant media push that all Muslims are terrorists. No one says that overtly, of course, but it IS the message trasmitted day after day. The oddity for me is that I know rather a lot of Muslims (including your good self) and not one of them comes close to even having extreme religious views let alone being miles away from sympathising with terrorism. Ironically I CAN think of a handful of Christians among the many I know that DO hold extremist views but because few groups move towards terrorist activity no one bats and eyelid at these people.

    As always, I come down to believing that hurt people do things to hurt people. The Western world is reaping a lot of the discontent it sowed long ago and while that does not justify the senseless acts of barbarity we see too often now it does mean we have to hold up our hands and say ‘I am partly responsible’ and then act to make things change. I see no solution to the current crises directly but I do believe that the long-term solution is to keep talking, keep communicating, keep loving and hope that the still, small voice of such activity will eventually outlast the shouts of anger and hatred.

    Until then all I can do is continue to show my solidarity with my Muslims friends who I love dearly and know have no more wish to hurt another human being than I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well said Ken. You’re absolutely right. I keep thinking of this in the long term perspective; as a small section in the very long history of the human race. That soon this will also fade away to be replaced by something else… maybe the climate problems? But of course we need to make sure it ends well and that it doesn’t leave the aftertaste colonialism once did.

      Liked by 1 person

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

