Upon Leaving

So today is my last day here in Bangladesh. I fly early in the morning tomorrow. I keep saying I’m not going to sleep tonight (as I have to head out around 4 am), but I know that at a certain point I won’t be able to keep sleep from coming. Hopefully I’ll get 2-3 hours. I don’t sleep very well in planes… especially as the seats are so uncomfortable on Turkish Airlines. Fortunately I don’t start work until Tuesday, so I have a whole day to recover from jetlag (I’ll be arriving in Stockholm on the same day).

I said my goodbyes to nanubari (grandma’s place, the place I spend the most of my time in here in Bangladesh) last night. After that, I dropped by at my aunt’s place which is close to my nanubari and said my goodbyes to them and their baby (my aunt had a grandson the day after I arrived in Bangladesh).

I don’t like saying goodbyes, I prefer “see ya later”. Goodbyes are so definite. Fortunately I won’t have to deal with any more of that. Maybe through phone calls… but that’s easier.

We’re having some guests over today; a sister/friend who I was supposed to meet up with a long time ago but didn’t manage to and my mom’s cousin and her family who I haven’t seen in like eight years I think. The timing could be better, but if there’s one guarantee about Bangladesh it’s that nothing goes according to plan. Things are rescheduled in the last minute like… all the time. After a certain point it doesn’t bug you as much, because by then you’ve learned to have a plan B, C and D.

I’m glad I get to see my nephews again, but I can’t say I’m not going to miss this place or my relatives at all. But my aunt (the one who lives with my grandma) has fixed an internet connection now, so at least we can Skype.

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

