Pre-Eid

I’m finally able to use internet on my laptop. I have unlimited internet access on my phone, but after I’ve consumed five gigabytes the speed will slow down. Therefore, I thought it better that I wait till the end of the month (the package is only valid one month, and then you have to renew it) before I use internet on my laptop through mobile hotspot. I thought maybe my laptop would consume more than my tiny phone. It doesn’t seem to consume that much though, even though I uploaded around 50 pictures on Facebook yesterday. So I can probably use my laptop freely from now on. I get most things done through my phone, but if I’m to blog I prefer a proper keyboard.

We came to Dhaka yesterday… hopefully I can finally start enjoying my vacation again. Today we went shopping and then went to my nanubari (maternal grandma’s place), and then went shopping again 😛 . Eid is probably the day after tomorrow here, so I told mom I want to go to my nanubari again tomorrow and have my aunt put henna on my hands. The night before Eid is called chaadraat (moon-night, i.e. the moon that marks the end of Ramadan), and that’s when you put henna, cook and prepare for Eid etc. There won’t be much of that done at our place as we haven’t told anybody to come here at Eid, but on the day after. We haven’t had a single guest at our place this time, so I really hope my relatives and friends will come.

This is the first time I’m celebrating Eid-al-Fitr in Bangladesh… that I can remember. The last time I celebrated Eid here was Eid-al-Azha eight years ago after my brother’s wedding. That Eid was spent in Chittagong. It wasn’t too bad, but I have a feeling this Eid will be even better… inshaa Allah (if Allah wills).

Here are a few of the pictures I’ve taken so far.

7 thoughts on “Pre-Eid

  1. Eid Mubarak ! Have fun …also don’t forget to go out for ice cream at Movenpick also 😀 on Eid night …. it seems to be a tradition for a lot of people..

    Like

  2. Eid mubarak Norah – your post made me homesick for Bangladesh! 😦
    I hope you have a wonderful time celebrating Eid and a blessed vacation in general over there now you’ve finally made it to Dhaka. Sorry I’ve not been around (all sorts of reasons) but trying to catch up with your posts now 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah I understand you’re busy with moving and stuff. Hope all of that goes well! Thanks Ken. I’ve been having a great Eid so far and will write all about it in a day or two :-).

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

