A Transparent Center

I want to know if it’s only me, or if other people in the blogging community – intellectuals devoted to literature, art and culture – have similar concerns. Do you guys think that the world is moving away from profound thinking? I’m not blaming the internet. If the internet was to be blamed, then I’d be one of the first victims of a disease I think is spreading.

I feel more and more like people nowadays are only following the crowd. Whatever opinion is “in”, they’ll adopt… even though many times they have no idea what it says about them nor what the grounds for that opinion are. But I see that those of us who still read books, for example, still have the capability to probe deeper into matters.

It’s in times like this I find salvation in the blogging community. I honestly don’t know what I’d do without you guys. By coming here I’m reminded that there are enough people who still think. And we are enough to make a difference and to rid the world of this disease. To steer the world in the right direction.

I also find salvation in reading and in class. Listening to our teachers and my fellow young literary scholars fills me with pride and strengthens me. Some may think people like me are wasting our lives, but I see us as people who are dedicated to a cause. I see us as people who chose one path instead of the other, the other being where work is a mechanical practice without meaning and spare time is dedicated to activities we engage in only to please other people.

Courtesy of: www.thumbr.io
Courtesy of: http://www.thumbr.io

These “other people” have become the center of the transcendental circle for people these days. They are those whose desirability people today seek. It’s all a circle of a superficiality so thin it cuts.

Am I being delusional and paranoid or is there at least a drop of truth to what I’m saying?

10 thoughts on “A Transparent Center

  1. Neither – I understand what you’re saying and sympathise but I also think it’s not true. I think we all feel the same thing however. The reason I don’t think it is true is because I think people have always been like that.

    The most important quote I ever put up in my classrooms wherever I taught and I’ve always taught about it is from Hitler. He said this:

    “What good fortune for men in power that people do not think”

    This is the crux: people have always blindly followed what others say – and evil people thrive on this fact! I well-recommend George Orwell’s Animal Farm. You can read it in a day and it is a wonderful analogy of the Russiona revolution written as life for animals on a farm. The ending, like with his ending to 1984, is chilling because history shows it is totally true.

    Like

      1. That’s possibly very true. We all become away of things more as we get older and also some things just never change. There’s a famous passage you can read about how kids are rowdy and disrespectful of their parents and so on and it reads perfectly as a statement of the problem of youth today in Britain. Then you find out it was actually written hundreds of years ago! Some things just are always true…

        Like

  2. It’s been an eternal problem, I fear.
    Still, the world of bloggers (and others) allows us to select a circle of kindred spirits.
    Or, as Samuel Johnson proclaimed back when London was the world’s largest city, he needed that many people so he could find five who could share in his intelligence.

    Like

    1. Yeah, a friend of mine before you said the same. I guess it just took me a while to figure it out, as I haven’t had enough years for experience. I wonder why we are burdened by these things while so many go on in life without ever understanding it…

      Like

  3. I’ve had the same thoughts; you aren’t alone. After reading the comments, I guess even I’d agree that maybe we became aware of it now, even though it has been going on for a long time. And I’m ever so grateful to the “blogspace” for bringing together so many people like us!

    Liked by 1 person

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

