Racism – the Human Weed

All mankind is from Adam and Eve, an Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab nor a non-Arab has any superiority over an Arab; also a white has no superiority over black nor a black has any superiority over white except by piety and good action. – Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him)

If hatred is a human feeling – something all of us can feel – I’m having difficulty understanding it nowadays. I don’t understand hatred when you attack a pregnant woman on the street, tearing her clothes off. Yes, because that thing that covers her head is part of her clothing. You could just as well go tear the bikini off a girl on the beach – that is how the veiled woman felt while you were tearing her hijab off… and assaulted her. I don’t even see a drop of reason behind her being assaulted a second time, this time by more than one person, for having filed a complaint.

Sad thing is, many people do. I don’t want to bring up a “we against them” war because I’d be fighting myself. I was born in this very country, raised by Bangladeshi parents, in the suburbs of Stockholm where many alike me were (still are) clustered together. I grew up playing with Swedes, Pakistanis, Eritreans and Moroccans. But the amount of comments against this woman on social media is alarming. It’s frightening.

I don’t know if this was an attack against Islam, religiosity in general (highly doubtful) or against non-ethnic Swedes. And why are they so many? I don’t remember my childhood being like this… but then again social media hadn’t seen the light of day yet back then. Nowadays anybody can and does say anything – and it’s frightening how many supporters racism has in this country.

Some people have the fire burning inside their hearts and revolt – like the women around the country who decided to don the hijab for a day in an outry. That’s a brave and empowering act… which will cause even more hatred. Hate seems to grow like weed around here. And weed, as anybody who has ever done basic gardening knows, is extremely stubborn.

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

