To Those Who Say Internet Changed Us

Some people nag about how the internet has changed us. Well duh… so did the industrial revolution… and the wheel before that… and the discovery of the fire. I honestly, for the heart of me, feel utter and painful annoyance towards these people and their oh so healthy opinions about the human race. Generation after generation doesn’t remain the same. Change will always exist – the Buddhists got that one right. There will always be new discoveries that will alter our lifestyle.

I doubt those people are among the doomsday-awaiting nerds (if they were, they’d never blame the internet for anything) – do they even watch movies? But if they were, and their argument’d be “how will we survive a global blackout?”. Then my answer to them is: “I don’t know, but we will”. I don’t think any animal race is as adaptable as we humans are (cockroaches aside). It will be difficult, but we will not become extinct. Just like we adapted to the wheel, industrialism and now information technology, we can adapt to a life without all of it as well. Chances are we’d try to rebuild the same things again. Because that’s what we’re all about; creating advancement. Note the choice of words.

A friend pissed me off once criticizing children playing video games, and that she was glad her parents never let her and her sister do it. I got pissed because I played video games too, but it didn’t mean I never played outside. I played outside much more than I played video games, but even that couple of hours a week sounded too much to her. Anyway the point is, that friend does not use Facebook, and is generally negative to the kind of lifestyle people like I lead. She’s the kind of girl who is extremely proud of the way her parents raised her (traveling a lot, being outdoors a lot, playing sports). Why can I never manage to market my life or my childhood as much as these people can? Sure I didn’t have many friends, but I had my books. I learned to speak and write and understand people all through the words of successful people… writers. I read, I played outside, I played inside, I chatted online. I was versatile. I got a taste of different things and chose that which I liked the best. I’ve never been good at sports or physical exercise and that’s nothing I’m embarrassed about. I understand the importance of it, and that’s enough if you’re my age and get to take your own decisions.

Ok hold on before I lose my line of thought completely. This has nothing to do with what kind of childhood you had or how your parents raised you. It’s about the world we live in today and how our lives will look ten, 20 years from now… assuming God has mercy upon us and keeps us alive till then to find out. While we’re advancing, there will always be certain types of people who will preach about the golden days. You know those old… women… squinting at you mentally threatening you with their canes in the park? Yeah… that’s how the future looks for those types of people. They’re the ones who turn into grumpy old men and women who get mad at bankers because the bank doesn’t do cash business anymore. Bottom line… our best bet is to hold on to a really fast train and not let go for as long as our muscles hold. Learn the new stuff, or at least be aware of it and acknowledge it. Understand that the evolution of human lifestyle is going to continue – don’t die before your time.

Picture source: automatedprofitmachine.com
Picture source: automatedprofitmachine.com

Internet didn’t change us – we did. Even if internet decides to quit, we’ll never stop changing – we’ll just invent a different tool to do it.

 

7 thoughts on “To Those Who Say Internet Changed Us

  1. You forgot one thing. Despite human race’s ability to make change and adapt to it, there are always some people with a taste in retro lifestyle. 😆 You gotta give them their space. You’re done if they’re your parents, though.

    Like

    1. It’s none of my business what kind of lifestyles others lead… but people like the friend I mentioned, who openly snort at well… a huge part of the way the world looks today… they piss me off.

      Like

  2. Wise thoughts though I would add a word of caution that you too may become one of those ‘old ladies’ that complains in the future about whatever technology has ‘changed everything’ and how much better it was ‘in your day’. I say this as one who agrees with you (and my goodness the internet has been a LIFESAVER for my family and I here in Bangladesh) and hated such attitudes when I was your age. But now I’m older I’m increasingly having fond memories of my childhood and increasingly concerned about the ‘young generation’ as I become more and more distant from it. It’s natural and I, at least, am aware it is happening and try to curb my critical thinking! But it isn’t easy…!

    Like

    1. I hear you… but I look at my parents who, being Bangladeshis, when buying want the latest phones, use Facebook, tabs etc. My mom does believe that things were better during her childhood… bit that’s a natural feeling for everyone. Even I feel that way… everybody who had a nice childhood probably does. But she still never opposes the technological advancement of the world. And my parents are much older than you :P!

      Like

      1. Ha ha – true, it’s just something I’m aware of being to creep up on me. Sometimes when people complain about how things are they are really describing how sad they feel for things past. 🙂

        Like

        1. Yeah… I think about all the people who were close to me back then but barely know me now and it sometimes almost brings tears to my eyes. But I keep telling myself there’s nothing that can be done about it… and I dream of the day I might have children of my own and be a part of their “golden days”.

          Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

