Ekla Chalo Re (Walk Alone)

Today, I’d like to share my favorite Tagore song with you guys. I love this song so much because I can relate to it and it motivates me. The name of the song is Ekla Chalo Re and below is a video where you can listen to the song in the voice of Shreya Ghosal. These are the lyrics in English (borrowed from Wikipedia), Tagore’s own translation:

If they answer not to thy call walk alone

If they are afraid and cower mutely facing the wall,
O thou unlucky one,
open thy mind and speak out alone.

If they turn away, and desert you when crossing the wilderness,
O thou unlucky one,
trample the thorns under thy tread,
and along the blood-lined track travel alone.

If they do not hold up the light when the night is troubled with storm,
O thou unlucky one,
with the thunder flame of pain ignite thy own heart,
and let it burn alone.

7 thoughts on “Ekla Chalo Re (Walk Alone)

    1. Yeah I like her too. She’s married to Arnob right? They made an album with remade Rabindroshongit… I loved that album.

      Like

      1. No actually they broke up in 2008. Arnob apparently wasn’t very faithful and had flings all over the place. I know that Shahana is in London and Kolkata now a lot more.
        The funny thing is every time I hear the song ekta chele it makes me sad. Because the song is aboit arnob and how they fell in love. But life goes on . But yes I love sahana’s voice and her experiments with the music.
        Anywho checkout Arnob and friends album. It came out 2009. You can see if you like it.

        Like

        1. Aw that’s sad… but that’s how life is for musicians isn’t it? I think I’ve heard that album as well actually…

          Like

            1. It wasn’t a flu alhamdulillah, was only a cold (albeit a strong one). But yeah I’m slowly but surely recovering :). Thanks.

              Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

