Choosing and Losing

What do you do when things don’t go the way you want them to? When slowly, yet too quickly, you start to lose control over your own life. What do you do when the ends of the threads glide off of your hands because your hands are too slippery with sweat? What do you do when other people start taking control over your life, and your dreams become aborted – killed before they even get to inhale for the first time? These are not rhetorical questions – I’m asking you guys because I need to know what I should do.

  • Should I do something drastic? Take a decision that puts me back in control, but which will not be supported by the right people?
  • Should I stay quiet and patient, waiting for the blessing or the curse of time?
  • Should I object at every point, firmly standing my ground and making sure that nobody else gets control over my life… even though it doesn’t give me control?
The thing with choices is that once you make one, you have to make another. Photo courtesy: http://bearmedicineherbals.com

Losing control scares me now more than any other time because now, I have the ability to make choices. Free will is a much heavier burden that it seems. Why do we have to choose?

And why do we want it all?

5 thoughts on “Choosing and Losing

  1. These are difficult and deeply philosophical questions Rinth despite the fact you have a very real circumstance that needs a very real answer.

    I don’t know your circumstance and so have to be very careful as I think my answer would change depending on the situation!

    Overall I have to say it is better to be in control and have no one in support than allow yourself to be dominated by others around you for the rest of your life. In fact, that isn’t a life really. But that said, the pursuit for independence and complete control is a slippery one that can lead to just as much unhappiness in life as you are never satisfied.

    Personally, I have boundaries where I will not allow any human being to cross. That includes at work, at home and with my friends. But otherwise, I found that life is much more exciting if you don’t try to control it too much and don’t set up expectations that you will be disappointed with if they don’t happen. In that sense, I try to have as little control in my life as possible.

    I hope that something, at least, of this ramble is helpful to you 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m impressed by your reply! So far you’re the only one who has attempted to answer :P. With that said; my reply is in your inbox!

      Like

  2. Intriguing indeed!

    What is it that makes you feel that you are losing control? Is it something about your thinking or the thinking of others? If it is your thinking, is it true? Is it really true? And if possibly not, what else could you do?

    Cheers and all the best.

    Shakti

    Like

    1. Hello there! Thank you for your comment.

      Well… it’s my thinking vs. others’. And I guess everybody likes to think they’re right. However, as it’s about my own life, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with me wanting anything for myself (that doesn’t affect anybody else in a negative manner). So there’s no question about the thinking per se; the question is rather how you take back something someone took from you :).

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

