Hormonal Laptops, Books, Traditions and Ughs

My laptop has decided to have a mental breakdown, as it does at least twice each year. Fortunately, I could open it in safe mode and copy everything I needed. I wanted to somehow restore it to factory settings or whatever… but I didn’t manage. I might give it a go again later. At the moment I’m using my mom’s laptop. This one isn’t a delight to use either; it’s slower than a turtle. I installed Ubuntu on it in utter frustration, as I don’t have a Windows CD and thinking this might make it usable. Unfortunately it didn’t; it’s as slow as before. Not to mention the problems I’m having synchronizing Chrome/Chromium and downloading the proper version of the Flash Player. I don’t even know if I should bother trying to figure these things out; it’s not like any of it is going to make this laptop work any faster… or repair my laptop. Sigh… the world was a more peaceful place before all of this nonsense came to be. The fact that I’m actually saying this proves that I’m aging… and doing it faster than I expected.

The-Hobbit-1024x1024

I went to see The Hobbit with O earlier this week. Despite all the additions to the story, I enjoyed it. It might also have to do with the fact that I read the book twelve years ago.

Talking about books… I took a break there while working. Not having time isn’t really a reason because I can always make time for books. It’s that I was a little bit confused about my list; didn’t really know in which sequence I was going to read all of them. But that problem is solved and I’ve already ordered my next batch which will arrive… earliest January 16th. Yeah, stupid I know.

Kalle_Anka_och_hans_vänner_önskar_god_julSo the holidays are here… not that we celebrate it, but I do enjoy watching Donald Duck on Christmas Eve. See here in Sweden there is a tradition of watching From All of Us to All of You on SVT 1 (a channel) at 15:00. It’s basically a compilation of short Disney movies and clips. Traditions are good. If God decides to have mercy upon me and do give me a family of my own someday; I wish to create yearly traditions. Maybe there will be gift-giving on Eid so the kids don’t feel left out on Christmas ^_^.

So I’ve not been doing anything productive this weekend. Oh what a surprise. You know questions like “what am I doing with my life?”… well they kinda pop up in my head after/during every wasted weekend. I don’t know why I don’t do anything. It has less to do with laziness and more to do with… ugh I don’t know. People like me should be out there working. I have realized that I can’t stay without an occupation – or school – for too long. One reason being I eat whenever I’m bored. Damn I need to lose some weight… Where have I heard that before?

 

 

Pictures from: http://www.decca.com/newsitems/decca-announces-the-release-of-the-hobbit-an-unexpected-journey-soundtrack/, http://seriewikin.serieframjandet.se/index.php/Kalle_Anka_och_hans_v%C3%A4nner_%C3%B6nskar_God_Jul!

5 thoughts on “Hormonal Laptops, Books, Traditions and Ughs

  1. I hope your computer gets fixed soon, Rinth. We are just beginning to settle down to enjoy Christmas here now we have finally arrived in the UK and got settled. It is good to have family traditions just like you say and I am quite sure you will have a family of your own one day – you’re destined it for it because you’re so lovely! Shubho Borodin 🙂

    Like

  2. Sorry about the laptop. Ubuntu is a life saver. I installed Windows 8 recently but now it is having issues booting up. As I had Ubuntu installed on a separate partition on my hard drive, I am now able to easily boot up into Ubuntu (right now I’m on Ubuntu as well). And most of my works are done perfectly on Ubuntu. I just wish some software (such as Photoshop, Premiere Pro) worked on Ubuntu too. 😦

    Happy Holidays, by the way. Hope you are having great time. 🙂 And I recently bought an Android tablet. It’s a low-end 7 incher, but it serves my purpose. Blog post coming soon 😛

    Like

    1. Congrats on the new buy 🙂

      Yeah Ubuntu is fine for someone like me who doesn’t even use computers much. But at the moment I can’t seem to make anything work. Sigh…

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

