The Opposite of Manboy – Boyman?

I have noticed something. I want to know if you guys agree with my theory.

Today, I found this guy on Facebook who went to my friend’s school. He’s junior to us… I don’t remember how many years (doesn’t say on his public profile). We used to make fun of him cuz we thought his name sounded funny. I think we went to Arabic/Quran school together. I don’t remember. It was a very long time ago.

Anyway, today when I found his name and clicked on him, I saw this drop dead gorgeous guy half-squinting towards the camera! I’m like: what the hell??

And it’s not the first time. Even among my own cousins, I’ve seen the guys transform seemingly overnight from little boys to really handsome young men. And what astonishes me so is that I don’t see the same rapid transformation in girls. No, girls grow slowly. You see them from being little girls to awkward pre-teens to discovering makeup to going through some phase to mature beautiful ladies. And that’s a long process. But what’s with these boys seriously? One day they’re these fun little things you chase around… the next they’re these polite yet shy young men almost feet taller than you!

Or is it because I’m a girl myself that I notice the girls’ transformation in more detail and understand it better than the guys’? What do the male readers think? I’m genuinely curious cuz I find this quite astonishing… as well as amusing… because the guys I’ve come around who are my age or older are never that good looking. No this looking good trend among guys belong to the ones born in the mid 90’s it seemes. My batch are all bearded by now. Seriously. And I’m not saying that’s a bad thing… just pointing it out.

It’s at times like these you realize that 23 isn’t “just 23”. You’re a full grown adult.  You see these kids growing up and transforming in front of you and you start wondering whether or not you’re doing that as well. Do I look older? When should I start worrying about wrinkles? Do I behave my age? Ok the last one I know I don’t… which is another cause for worry.

So what do you think? Do you agree with my theory, that guys somehow grow “faster” than girls? I mean I’ve always known the opposite. Or are the times changing? Is the wind blowing towards the other direction now?

See? This is EXACTLY what I’m talking about! How the hell did this happen??

Picture from: http://www.popsugar.com.au/tag/Matthew-Lewis

4 thoughts on “The Opposite of Manboy – Boyman?

    1. Hahahahahah! I doubt that! But you should be able to have somewhat of a clue on this matter as you have both a son and a daughter :).

      Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

