The Smell of the Forest

Humans have strong scent memory. What’s your favorite smell, and what does it make you think of?.
Plinky.com

Except for the smell of good food and the comforting smell of the people I love, one of my favorite smells must be that of the forest. It is not often I go there. They’d take us to the forest while in school. In the earliest years it was to get to know the forest, and later on it was to experience the what-would-become horrifying memories of orienteering… to at least pass P.T.

Image

 

I wish I’d go to the forest more often. I wish I knew my way around the trees in the neighborhood and would find some time to walk there instead of inside buildings filled with material things that are only going to satisfy me for a limited amount of time. Wish I could breathe some of that forest air right now.

Alas, winter is approaching, and it’s all dead wood now. The moist of the earth is slowly freezing and what is room for the various creatures of the north is now naked and vacant. Not a good time for a walk in the forest, that is.

If I try to imagine the smell, it’s something very rich. Something that manages to penetrate all of your external barriers and hit a button inside of you. Whether or not you like the forest, or if you’re scared of it, does not really matter. The forest exudes an aura that cannot be replicated. It proves how nature has a life of its own. The very life that is keeping us alive.

Picture from: http://alexlibertarian.blogspot.com/2011/01/we-can-learn-so-much-from-swedens.html

6 thoughts on “The Smell of the Forest

  1. That’s beautiful insight about the earthy power of the forest smell. Love it. I find powerful memories associated with the smell of Play Doh, Indian chai and frangipanis.

    Like

    1. Woah… Play Doh… I forgot about that one! Haven’t seen any of that in ages. Will probably soon though when my nephew is old enough. I always felt like eating it :P!

      Yeah the smell of chai, if cooked properly, has a very soothing effect.

      I have no idea what frangipanis is. Going to look it up right away!

      Like

      1. It’s a very fragrant five-petal white flower that I associate with various places I have lived in the world – Indonesia most of all where the things were falling by the hundreds every day in my garden!

        Like

  2. This brought me back to my arrival in Australia in 1970, near the migrant village was a pine forest, that smell has stayed with me to this day. Another is the distinct smell of a steam train, I can remember this from when I was 2 watching my dad play cricket.

    Like

Make sure to tick the box so you get a notification when I reply to your comment!

